Posted in Uncategorized

Using LED Light Bars to Enhance Video Productions

This was an initial test using my old Samsung Galaxy SIII to record the video/audio.  I used the free, online EasyPrompter teleprompter app and displayed it on my office PC.  I had a cheap desk mount tripod (purchased at Dollar Tree several years ago) and a special smartphone mount that attached to the tripod and held the phone snuggly.  I placed the phone in front of my monitor and resized the EasyPrompter display so that it was skewed toward the camera lens on the phone.

The new part of this test, and I only used one USB LED Light Bar, was some cheap lighting.  I bought two LeDengLux Dimmable USB LED “Under Cabinet Lighting” bars from Amazon for a little over $14 @ with Prime.  I think you can see at the end of the video when I lean in to turn the camera off, how well lit my face appears.  Playing with two lights, and maybe add a cheap reflector and for under $30 you could improve the quality of your office video output.

light-bar-controllerThree nice features of this LED Light Bar are the USB power connector, the dimmable on/off control and a color temperature option that changes from a reddish to bright white hue.  I figure placing one light on each side of the monitor, or an HDTV would work.  You can tell that I am reading the text, but I’m not using my glasses, because I can blow the text up to very large.

 

Leave a Reply

