Posted in Chromebook, Repurpose Equipment

A Dell Latitude D630 Chromebook

20160609_132856

I was perusing an article yesterday Learning the Alphabet and found that Neverware has CloudReady, which repurposes old PCs or laptops into Chromebooks for a relatively cheap price per unit.  I went to their site and found that I could download and try out CloudReady for free.  *For personal use, the OS is free.

This Dell Latitude D630 is the same system that I converted some time ago to Ubuntu 14.2 LTE.  I played with that OS for a while and then have just been updating the Ubuntu OS regularly as new updates were made available.

The instructions for creating a USB Install Disk for CloudReady were well spelled out.  I fortunately had an 16 GB stick.  It actually took longer to burn the USB Install Disk than it did to run it on bootup of the Dell and have it install the Chrome OS there.  If I still had Windows on this laptop, I might have tried the dual-boot setup, but not sure this was one of those devices with which dual-boot would work.

CloudReady does not boot my Dell Latitude D630 up in 10 seconds as does my Chromebook.  But, it has connected with WIFI, and Bluetooth, and has run YouTube videos without a hiccup via WIFI.  I can do everything that I normally do for work using my Chromebook.

Here is a COG for Chrome screen shot of my Dell Chromebook.

COG4Chrome-Dell-Chromebook

Running Stupeflix from my Chromebook at home and finding it worked perfectly got me excited about Chromebooks again.  That is why I was reading through some Chromebooks in Education articles yesterday.

I haven’t tried Cloud Convert yet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

