Posted in Uncategorized

Knowledge Isn’t Power. The Ability to Learn is Power.

Knowledge isn’t power.  The ability to learn, quickly and efficiently is power!

I was driving about the countryside recently and saw a sign that said something to the effect, “Knowledge is Power.”  Years ago, this was true, but with the Internet and the rapidity of our changing and global society, this is no longer the case.  The knowledge you currently possess is much like the printed word in a just published textbook… It is old by the time it reaches the presses, and even older by the time it is shipped to your bookstore.

teach-adapt
Tere Traub, Executive Director – Kaplan

So, the ability to learn quickly and efficiently makes you more marketable and powerful in our current society.  I am guessing that most of the junk you have memorized in your lifetime is now quite useless.  Do you need statistics?  Google it!

I rarely purchase books, even at discount rates, or in electronic form, that are meant to be definitive works, or even introductory works.   I find technology conferences and peruse the list of conference sessions, topics, and leaders and try to determine what are the “trending” ideas or technologies.  I then google for session leaders and their session topics and normally will find where they work “in the real world” and the writings and presentation materials they have posted previously regarding a topic.

I haven’t found this recently, but if a leader is willing to post, “What/Who I am currently reading,” then I try to google to the source of the stew.  After all, what they are currently reading or researching will become the ingredients for future recipes.  Maybe the session leader is reaching the end of the life of their current session topic, and is preparing to turn in other directions.

A couple of years ago, I started watching a local conference session video.  The leader was faculty at a local higher ed institution, and was introducing a trending topic & its creator. Their department was interested in implementing this new concept.  I stopped about a third of the way into the video and googled for the topic & the creator’s name.  I found their book on Amazon.com.  I also found that the creator had spoken at another higher ed institution, for that institution’s faculty, and that his lengthy & detailed introduction had been videoed.  I didn’t go back to finish the local conference leader’s video.  Why should I?  I had found the source.  I was able to have the creator teach me personally.  Ain’t the Web marvelous!

I also read articles from the latest online issues of “Campus Technology” or “T|H|E Journal“.  I will google the topics and leaders, as I do for conferences.

Leave a Reply

