Posted in 21st Century Ed, Web 2.0 Tools

Saving Paper & Taking Class Notes

I’ve written before about taking class notes using an iPad.  This morning I read another question, by a Engineering student, asking if it would be possible to take course notes using an iPad.  A specific problem he foresaw was being able to write Greek letters and create circuit board drawings.  I responded with my classic “WordPress is a great tool for taking notes via email.”  But, I really did not have a good digital solution for the special characters & drawings.  I facetiously suggested using an Etch A Sketch for creating those special characters, even with the steep learning curve.  I have since re-thought my suggestion and have two alternative choices:

This is a Pro Doodle by Fisher Price.

Doodle Pro

You can tell that this customer is extremely
satisfied with the outcome.

But, I think a Magic Slate – Paper Saver
might provide a higher quality rendering
(if it photographs well).

Magic Slate Paper Saver

ADDENDUM:

So, I found that Western Publishing Company of Racine, WI was the maker of the Magic Slate for may years, but that company had been absorbed into one or more companies in the 1980-90s.

I read an article from 1987 that Magic Slates had been used by Government officials for security purposes when visiting overseas.  In the article, it stated that Magic Slates were produced in Fayetteville, NC for the company.  *I had to look twice, maybe more.  Fayetteville, NC?  No, I’m in Fayetteville, NC.  Magic Slates can be manufactured anywhere in the World, but not in Fayetteville, North Carolina.

Apparently, about 1994, the Fayetteville production site was “put on the block” during bankruptcy for one of the subsequent holders.  Wow!  I came to Fayetteville in August of 1995.  What a small, small, small World.

Leave a Reply

