Posted in Audio/Video

veebeam

veebeam

How It Works

I was in a meeting a couple of weeks ago and mentioned that in the future, we (campus IT) would probably just need to provide a Bluetooth keyboard and wireless monitor video to users, who would just need to connect their mobile devices so they could do more productive work (e.g. wordprocessing, blogging and power email). You would just put these interface devices about the campus.

*I didn’t think about wireless printing at the time, but that would also be necessary.

I qualified my first comment by noting that I wasn’t sure if there was Bluetooth video capability yet. veebeam is “wireless USB.”

I ordered the HD version of veebeam from Amazon.com, which ended up being about $142, including shipping.

The device arrived via USPS and I opened the box. There was the base unit, the USB antenna, the power cable, and a composite audio/video cable (red, white, yellow), and a two-fold Quick Start pamphlet. Take a look at the back of the base unit from the image gallery below, and see that it’s pretty intuitive. I plugged in the power adaptor, connected the HDMI cable between base unit and tv, and plugged in the USB antenna to my laptop. *Okay, you do have to download the veebeam software and install it first. Once done, you can either select that veebeam starts with Windows, or you will need to manually start the program before connecting laptop to tv.

The night before the veebeam unit arrived, I was surfing the web and made a note after hitting a website, that something unusual had happened. I think I picked up a virus which caused my Internet connection to start acting screwy. I had to use the “ipconfig /renew” option, which would allow me to hit the next URL, but then I would have to renew again before going to the next address. *I’ve got my laptop at the office this morning so that the IT techs can re-install Windows. That will be easier than fiddling with what the virus might have done.

So, because of the possible virus, but definite funkiness of my laptop, it was a hassle to download the veebeam software (but I got ‘er done.) and I couldn’t easily test out playing YouTube and Hulu videos.

I did get the connection to work (on Windows XP) and I viewed the Desktop and panned through several image slideshows. I also started a DVD movie playing on the laptop and it worked fine, pushing the video & sound to the tv without a hiccup. There is a 1 to 2 second delay between the laptop video and the veebeam video on your tv. *veebeam does not show your mouse cursor on the tv.

I think veebeam is going to be an excellent little device for connecting laptops in a conference setting to a large screen tv. *veebeam may not work on some systems, but on those that it does, it will be “great.” Just install the software on all laptops, and pass the USB antenna around as needed for each person’s presentation.

Oh, when you pop the USB antenna out of it’s cradle in the base unit, the system automatically changes the input on your tv to that of veebeam. *I’ve got Cable hooked directly to my tv. Veebeam has one HDMI connection, and my PS3 system has the other HDMI connection. I don’t game a lot, but use the PS3 for its Blu-Ray capabilities and connecting to Netflix.

*The HD veebeam has “Two (2) USB ports for future support of webcams and external hard-drives.” This might be interesting. I’m still hoping that the PS3 will start supporting SKYPE, which is a natural direction with the PS3 gaming camera.

Image Gallery:

http://www.veebeam.com/productimage.php?product_id=3

Leave a Reply

