Posted in eMobile

Going Mobile

“Going Mobile” Cover by Eddie629

Lyrics to “Going Mobile” by the Who

I’m going home
And when I wanna go home
I’m going mobile
Well, I’m gonna find a home
And we’ll see how it feels
Going mobile
Keep me moving
I can pull up by the curb
I can make it on the road
Goin’ mobile
I can stop in any street
And talk with people that we meet
Going mobile
Keep me moving
Out in the woods
Or in the city
It’s all the same to me
When I’m driving free, the world’s my home
When I’m mobile
Hee, hoo!
beep beep!
Play the tape machine
Make the toast and tea
When I’m mobile
Well I can lay in bed
With only highway ahead
When I’m mobile
Keep me moving
Keep me moving
Over 50
Keep me grooving
Just a hippie gypsy
Come on move now
Moving
Keep me moving, yeah
Keep me moving, grooving, grooving, yeah
Movin’, Yeah
Mobile, mobile, mobile, mobile, …
I don’t care about pollution
I’m an air-conditioned gypsy
That’s my solution
Watch the police and the tax man miss me
I’m mobile
Oooooh, yeah, hee!
Mobile, mobile, mobile yeah

The following excerpt taken from the 2010 Horizon Report (web version):

[Technologies to watch on the “near-term” horizon (within 2 years).]

Mobile computing, by which we mean use of the network-capable devices students are already carrying, is already established on many campuses, although before we see widespread use, concerns about privacy, classroom management, and access will need to be addressed. At the same time, the opportunity is great; virtually all higher education students carry some form of mobile device, and the cellular network that supports their connectivity continues to grow. An increasing number of faculty and instructional technology staff are experimenting with the possibilities for collaboration and communication offered by mobile computing. Devices from smart phones to netbooks are portable tools for productivity, learning, and communication, offering an increasing range of activities fully supported by applications designed especially for mobiles.”

Abilene Christian University Mobile Learning Initiative has provided iPhones to all of their faculty and to all of the entering classes for the last two [may be going on to 3rd year now] years.

Using mobile devices for:

  • Content Delivery
  • Content Creation
  • Collaboration

About 3 months ago, Blackboard loaned me an Android smartphone so that I could “play” with it regarding their new Mobile Learn building block. The Mobile Learn app (for both Sprint Android devices, and iPhone/iPad devices) is supposed to make it easier for students to access their Blackboard course content easily from their smart devices.

The truth, for me, is that Blackboard Mobile Learn doesn’t make it easier to deliver course content or collaborate, over some existing non-Blackboard apps. For example, a WordPress blog, will automatically detect a mobile device and deliver the site content in a more mobile-usable form. ACU has incorporated WordPress blogs into their Mobile Learning Initiative.

One of my sources for ideas regarding mobile learning in higher ed is the Cool Teachers Podcast site. Barbara Schroeder and Chris Haskell are the “Cool Teachers” at Boise State University. Barbara and Chris both have separate blog sites and I’ve noticed that Barbara has come up with several good lists for both mobile learning and learning in general lately. Using Mobile Technologies in the Classroom: 10 Easy Tips to Get Started is one of the lists.

Leave a Reply

